HK Chronicles 2012: Part 5

Okay so that last post wasn’t that exciting. So this one will focus more on the fun things I did in Hong Kong. Note, I’ll deal with my shopping in a video once I get back to Australia. I didn’t really manage to do that many fun things with people while in Hong Kong; but I did spend a lot of time hanging out with different people while walking the streets of Hong Kong. It was a good change of pace hanging out with different people this time round (well nearly). Sometimes we know it becomes a bit dull being with the same people all the time (especially during the long four month summer break) so it was cool to have been able to do different things with different people.

 

Lan Kwai Fong

Essentially, LKF is the Hong Kong equivalent to King’s Cross, and other seedy places. Well to be honest, it didn’t seem that bad, although to be fair, walking around in a group of ten shouldn’t pose us as a weak target to any other groups of strangers. On the third night I was in Hong Kong I visited the area with a bunch of friends for dinner, and then drinks, and…let’s leave it at that. The place is void of Chinese people and instead was full of foreigners and other English speakers. Most of my relatives (a generation older) felt a bit uneasy when I told them I went there with friends to drink. On the other hands, my cousins asked to make sure I had actually gone haha. Some were a bit more conservative and wanted me to go just to see what it was like. It’s quite a rowdy district, especially late at night. Luckily we all left by 12am. Sadly, there is no good photo I can put up for this section.

 

____________________

 

Bike Riding

I can’t be bothered tracing back to the exact dates when I did things. On one day I went out to Tai Po and went bike riding with a different set of friends. It wasn’t that special an activity, although to be honest I hadn’t touched a bike like ten years prior to this event. But of course, you don’t forget how to ride a bike that easily so I was fine. Others, who at this point still have not ridden a bike, struggled a bit:

 

HK_0036

I thought it was interesting that it only took an hour for my friend to get the hang of it; compared to like the many more hours most of us might’ve spent as kids. It just sort of seemed more efficient this way to learn how to ride a bike in an hour at this age, rather than as a kid. I suppose the trade off then is that you don’t get to ride a bike as a kid, something I rarely did anyhow.

 

We rode all the way from the bike hire place down to Sha Tin which was perhaps about 12Km. It was quite a long ride even though it was along a near-straight path most of the time. There were a lot of other cyclists as well, some who were riding for fun in groups of friends or families, and other people who were doing serious training. The quality of he bike and their attire gave us a strong hint on what level they were at. Nothing hat interesting happened along the way; we had to take breaks along the way for our newbie and so our journey took longer than expected. I stacked some kid at some point because I suddenly decided to turn around (didn’t check my blind spot) and he wasn’t very good at braking or keeping his balance. He was fine, not that you could guess without me telling you. We were all very tired by the end of the day because we had to ride the bikes back to return them as well haha (a total of about 25Km).

 

HK_0092

 

____________________

 

Ocean Park

The very next day (yes most of us were still quite exhausted), we went to Ocean Park. The last time I went was a good 14+ years ago, so I had pretty much forgotten my experience. We got there heaps early to make the most of the day. We headed to as many rides as we could in the morning before people started coming and making the queues long. It didn’t take long for me to get into the rhythm for roller coasters. Having not been to many amusement parks, one would tend to think that I’m bad with roller coasters, I certainly thought so. But by about the fourth ride, that “dropping” feeling wasn’t that foreign to me, it was a quite pleasant adrenaline rush haha.

 

One new ride they opened this year was the “Hair Raiser”:

 

fb_HK_0097

Didn’t really manage to capture a good section of the track but it was basic a rollercoaster which would also twist 360 degrees  as it went around those loops as well. We lined up for that one several more times because it was probably the most exhilarating ride of them all. Also went on the vertical drop ride; which was worse than what we expected because the ride faces towards the ocean and so when you try to look down, all you see is the ocean, rather than dry land, which made it all the more scary I suppose? It’s one of those rides where right before you hit the climax you think to yourself: “At the time it seemed like a good idea…” I don’t think anything gets worse than the vertical drop yes?

 

Food was kind of expensive there, as expected, so we all only ate a bit from a McDonald’s stall; it was still cheaper than any corresponding item in Australia. Another random thing to mention is that mainlanders LOVE to push in queues; we all had to wall off a lot to prevent those snobbish people from doing so. And to also think that it was adults who were pushing in, to go on a children’s ride, the sight is somewhat pathetic. I think at the end of the day, some of us are a bit too old to be going on these rides now. Even though it was my first day in a while going on rollercoasters, the thrill died pretty fast and to me, Ocean Park sort of does feel boring enough such that even if I did come again, it would only be to go on the new rides (probably should wait another 14 years again then haha).

 

It was a fun day though, we walked for most of the day, saw nearly all the things they had on display and when on other “scary” rides such as the “Escalator” and the “Cable Car” – man that last one is really scary when it just stops randomly over a big ditch and doesn’t move for a while. Here are some random photos:

 

HK_0134

HK_0141 HK_0147

 

____________________

 

I suppose the other fun things I did in Hong Kong were small shopping dates either with friends or with cousins. One last random thing to end on is that I drank on a fair number of nights, mostly with relatives. That is, drinking, not getting drunk (huge difference). One of my uncles said that red wine is pretty cheap in Hong Kong (like $50 HKD a bottle) so most of the alcohol I consumed while in Hong Kong was just wine. I still prefer sake though. Anyhow that will do for now. All of these photos and many others can be found on my Facebook. A little over a week left in Hong Kong now.

Leave a Reply

