Nat’s Early 18th

Hurray for Nat, who held her 18th about a week or so early because she’s heading overseas really soon. Unlike Yitian’s party, this was a formal, well-structured party. It felt really formal, which got me a bit nervous, up until I remembered that I’m older then most of the guests here haha! Anyway, Nat’s house is very ideal for a party, the backyard was easily large enough to cater for all her guests. There was that small amphitheatre area for food and music. I guess my heart ached for the night because there was no Jap or Korean music but that’s something I need to learn to live with haha!

 

Uncle Francis was out at the front of the house checking the guest list. Yep, that makes the party pretty formal; although I would suspect more than not that it was just part of presentation. Food was prepared by Aunty Alice and Aunty Betty; there was quite a lot of food I noticed. But that should be expected of an important 18th birthday party.

 

But before I go on, let’s flash back to some drama relating to the obtaining of Nat’s present; and you’ll see how busy my week was, such that everything had to tie in together. Nat, I’m sure by now you’ve opened all your presents, so there’s no harm in mentioning them here.

 

____________________________________________________________________

 

Anyway, the hard thing about all of this was that Donna and Erica only came and talked to me about the present thing just last Sunday. Whereas I had been wondering for the past month, about who was going; because it was getting confusing with Sharon and Quentin. I never got round to asking anyone and with only a week to go, it was only down to me, Donna and Erica. Sharon opted to chip in as well but she wasn’t going to come. So anti-social.

 

I had spent a couple of months thinking of what we could get Nat, the present kept changing in my mind several times. And as a spoiler, previously part of the present was going to be this large hippo plushie, which I originally got for Grace, but didn’t seem to fit with the rest of our gifts, budget range, etc. But my dad refunded it before I could get a confirmation about whether I was going or not.

 

Eventually I had part of the present in mind, but the rest of it was going to be up to the girls. We planned to meet up on Friday at Hornsby Westfield after school (for them) to search for a present. Meanwhile on Thursday, right after Yitian’s party (oh I forgot to mention the day it was held, Yit’s party), Andy drove us back to his house and I walked my way to Epping station. It was too long a walk for me, especially when it was nearing 6pm. But I had vowed to go out to Koorong that day, and didn’t want to go back the next day. So I pushed on and got to Koorong, allowing myself only 10 minutes to buy stuff.

 

But I had already done my research, so I knew what I was getting. In and out, grabbed Casting Crown’s new album (Brandon kept telling me about it and it was only after CommQuip that I thought “Hey this could be a good present”) so I nabbed that. Had time to spare so I looked at the cards they had. Most of them were plain, but then there was this really pretty one with a piano on the front. Didn’t hesitate, nabbed that as well, paid for them and rushed back to the station. Phase 1 was complete.

 

Jump to Friday the next day and I met up with Donna first in Borders. She obviously has watched too much Shoujo because she greeted me in a quiet place like Borders with a huge wave o.0” We tried looking for something else to buy; obviously something girly, otherwise I wouldn’t have asked them to come out. Erica would be a while, coming from CTHS so me and Donna went searching on our own. It was fairly unproductive, we didn’t really have much of an idea what to get. Went to David Jones, my intention was to see if Jess was working that day. Turns out she was, coincidentally. I didn’t see her because I didn’t expect her to get transferred into women’s fashion. So she called us over and we had a short chat.

 

Erica came some time after 4pm, we took her to see Jess and then we started our search again. Long story short we ended up getting her a bunch of bracelets that we thought would be adequate for her style. Nothing too bulgy, and nothing that was overly flashy. I won’t say any more. But yeah that’s what we ended up getting her. That’ll be enough for the flashback.

 

____________________________________________________________________

 

Anyway throughout the night the 3 of us sort of just mingled on our own. It’s not that we didn’t want to meet Nat’s school friends and such; just that we weren’t too keen in just barging into circles and going “Hey, my name is…how are you?” I think I’ve done way too much of that within CBS, I personally wasn’t fired up to meet anymore new people; I already have enough trouble remembering the names of the people I already have met >.<”

 

And to be honest, Donna and Erica were quite keen on mingling “around the food”, for obvious Asian reasons. Everyone else was taking their places in the garden and just chatting in small clumps of 5-6 people. We chatted with Vic and Ed when they did come over. Other than that, I met this Wenny guy at the door and had a short chat with him; but found out a fair bit. The kid’s going to do Actuarial Studies next year at UNSW; excellent choice. I kind of wished I had signed up for peer mentoring, maybe applications are still open? But oh well, I’ll probably see him next year then.

 

Uncle Daniel and his family came, and so I had a chat with all of them, with Rachel and Grace, whom I haven’t seen for perhaps 6-7 years. I can barely remember them. I’m pretty sure Rachel is…3 ears older than me? That’s makes her a fourth year. Grace, well, I never really had a clue as to her age haha!

 

Nat’s sister, Danielle, kept coming around and taking pictures of us. Or Nat if you had checked there should be an ample stock of Erica-only photos haha. Eventually she just blocked the camera; we kept trying to tell her to take pictures of the other guests but she stuck around us the most.

 

And that was sort of how the night went for us. You’d kind of wished that there had been set activities for everyone, I don’t know, like games or something; but then again let it be a mature “do-whatever-you-want” party I suppose. Nat came around occasionally throughout the night, and we chatted with her and took photos with her, that was nice =)

 

Later during the night, we had a formal…presentation of Nat’s life through a slideshow (no background music?) followed by a speech from her mum and then her good friend Satomi (so that’s who she is). And then finally a speech from Nat herself. I, for one, was not satisfied with the length of the speech; was expecting more than a Logie speech, would’ve liked something more dramatic for such an important moment in life haha!

 

And the rest of the night went on from there, more music, dessert, more insects crawling and flying around everywhere. The night was sort of plagued by those pests; it was quite annoying and sort of disgusting. I would never have imagined that there would be this many of them in one place. And after checking today, I found that I have not been bitten by anything, yes! A great party all in all; makes me want to start thinking about mine…

Leave a Reply

